Awards | Mar 24, 2016 |
Duncan G. Stroik, RAMSA to receive Arthur Ross Awards
Boh staff
By Staff

At a May 2 reception in New York, The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art’s 35th Annual Arthur Ross Awards, honoring excellence in the classical tradition, will be given to leaders in Architecture, Education, Stewardship, Civic Design and Fine/Arts Photography. Architect Duncan G. Stroik of South Bend, Indiana, and Austin, Texas, will receive the Architecture award. Robert A.M. Stern will receive the Education award in recognition of his “decades of teaching and his embrace of plurality in architectural education.” 

The Stewardship award will go to Paula Wallace and the Savannah College of Art and Design; the Civic Design award will be given to Ciudad Cayalá, a city in Guatemala known for mixed-use architecture; and the Fine Arts/Photography award will go to Anne Day, an architectural photographer based in Salisbury, Connecticut.

The Arthur Ross Awards were established in 1982 by Classical America advocate Arthur Ross to recognize the “achievements and contributions of architects, painters, sculptors, artisans, landscape designers, educators, publishers, patrons and others dedicated to preserving and advancing the classical tradition.” Previous honorees include Allan Greenberg, Quinlan Terry, Richard Piccolo, Edward Schmidt, Chauncey Stillman, the Citizens of Greater Kansas City, and Prince Charles.

Learn more and purchase tickets for the awards reception.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.