Awards | May 11, 2015 |
Graves, Larsen, Commune honored by Cooper Hewitt
Boh staff
By Staff

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum announced the honorees for its 16th annual National Design Awards, recognizing innovation and excellence in a range of disciplines.

This year's Cooper Hewitt honorees will be celebrated in October at Pier 60 in New York City.

Cooper Hewitt director Caroline Baumann delivered the announcement, with this year’s recipients including: Michael Graves for Lifetime Achievement, Jack Lenor Larsen for Director’s Award, Rosanne Haggerty for Design Mind, Heath Ceramics for Corporate & Institutional Achievement, MOS Architects for Architecture Design, Project Projects for Communication Design, threeASFOUR for Fashion Design, John Underkoffler for Interaction Design, Commune for Interior Design, Coen + Partners for Landscape Architecture, and Stephen Burks for Product Design.

Michael Graves, Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

“With the reopening of the museum this past year, Cooper Hewitt is scaling new heights to educate, inspire and empower our community through design,” said Baumann. “I am thrilled and honored to welcome this year’s class of National Design Award winners, all of whom represent the pinnacle of innovation in their field, with their focus on collaboration, social and environmental responsibility, and the fusion of technology and craftsmanship.”

Graves' Louman Museum, courtesy Michael Graves Architecture & Design, Inc.

The winners will be feted at a gala dinner on Thursday, Oct. 15, at Pier Sixty in New York City.

The Awards were established in 2000 as a White House Millennium Council project aimed at promoting design as a humanistic tool. Honorees are selected by a museum-appointed jury of design leaders and educators who review submissions of work nominated by the public.

An Ojai, California project by award winner Commune

In order to be nominated, nominees must have been practicing professionally for at least seven years, while Lifetime Achievement nominees must have been practicing professionally for a minimum of 20 years. The Director’s Award is chosen by director Baumann, and granted to an individual who has shown outstanding support and patronage within the design community.

Honoree Jack Lenor Larsen's Silk Hangings at Sears Bank & Trust

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.