Event Recaps | Dec 8, 2015 |
Stanford White Awards celebrate design projects
Boh staff
By Staff

On December 2, the New York Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art celebrated the winners of the 2015 Stanford White Awards in a sold-out event at the Prince George Ballroom. The awards honor achievement in individual projects in architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism, and building craftsmanship and artisanship throughout New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut.

More than 300 guests mingled with honorees at a reception and exhibition showcasing the winning projects. They were welcomed by 2015 Stanford White Awards co-chairs Clay Hayles of Robert A.M. Stern Architects, Alice Kriz of Remains Lighting and Rodrigo Bollat Montenegro of Ferguson & Shamamian Architects.

Shared David Calligeros, president of the ICAA’s New York chapter, “We believe that a thoughtful approach to architecture in the present starts with a thorough understanding of the substance and the grammar of the past. We provide a solid foundation and a set of tools for making great contributions to our cities, regardless of their stylistic expression.”

Justin Davidson, a critic for architecture and classical music at New York magazine and a 2002 Pulitzer Prize winner, served as emcee for the ceremony and announced the recipients of the 12 awards for classical and traditional architecture.

A jury including Dell Mitchell, Suzanne Lovell and Stanley Dixon chose the winners, among them Peter Pennoyer Architects, Sawyer | Berson, Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, Historical Concepts, Voith & Mactavish Architects, Fairfax & Sammons Architecture, Allan Greenberg Architect, Doyle Herman Design AssociatesAndre Tchelistcheff Architects and Walter B. Melvin Architects.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.