Contests | Oct 27, 2014 |
Six design contests, competitions and calls for entries to note
Boh staff
By Staff

The next big thing—whether it’s a person, project or idea—is often discovered through the art of competition. Design companies and organizations often dangle enticing prizes in hopes of uncovering the latest and greatest talent and ideas. In this month’s roundup, the Seattle Design Center, AIA New York, the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art, Lighting by Gregory, the International Interior Design Association and ICON HONORS are offering attractive prizes from $1,500 to national recognition.

15th Annual Northwest Design Awards winning project

The Seattle Design Center is set to host its 16th Annual Northwest Design Awards Competition to reward outstanding interior design in the region. The jury’s goal is to identify and recognize projects that exemplify design across a range of styles and spaces in 16 competition categories, including bathroom, contemporary design, traditional design, commercial design, kitchen design, student design and more. Designers are invited to enter their projects online through November 21 at 5:00 p.m. The winners are honored at the annual Northwest Design Awards Gala on March 5.

The AIA New York Chapter Committee on the Environment (COTE) has launched its first annual awards program “Proof + Beauty.” Modeled on the COTE National Awards, the AIANY COTE Awards will further sustainable design in the architectural profession, make transparent the lessons learned and reveal the process behind innovation in an urban context. Completed new buildings, renovations/restorations, and interior architecture are eligible. Projects must be located within a radius of 100 miles from Central Park NYC and must have been built and completed (substantial completion) after January 1, 2009, and for at least three months prior to the submission deadline. All architects licensed in the U.S. are invited to submit. The deadline to enter is November 10.

2013 Stanford White Award winning project

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) has announced the third annual Stanford White Awards for Excellence in Classical and Traditional Design. These awards recognize excellence in “new” classical and traditional architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism and building craftsmanship and artisanship throughout New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut. The awards are named in honor of Stanford White (1853-1906) of the distinguished New York firm McKim, Mead & White, whose legacy of design excellence and creativity in architecture and the allied arts continues to serve as a source of inspiration. Submissions are due by October 27; the winners will be announced on November 10 and will be honored at an awards presentation on December 3.

Lighting by Gregory will hold an interior design contest for new and established interior designers. As part of Lighting by Gregory’s expansion of their 8,500 sf showroom, the #LBGDesignCompetition will give entrants an opportunity to showcase their talents by crafting a design for the new multiuse area in the historic showroom’s second floor. Entries will be accepted until November 30 and the winning project will receive a $1,500 American Express gift certificate, with additional prizes awarded for second and third place.

2013 IIDA Global Excellence Awards winning project

The International Interior Design Association (IIDA) has announced the opening of the 2014 IIDA Global Excellence Awards. This annual worldwide design competition was established to honor and celebrate outstanding originality and excellence in the creation of international interior design/interior architecture projects in 13 categories. Submissions are now being accepted in categories including corporate spaces, healthcare, hospitality, retail stores, restaurants and more. The deadline for submitting projects is November 21. Judging will take place December 6, with awards being presented January 24 during an awards reception at Maison & Object in Paris. For questions and more information, contact Liz Moran, IIDA Design Competitions Manager, via email or by calling (312) 379-5134.

The ICON HONORS 2015 is in pursuit of top achievers for its sixth-annual ICON HONORS. Retailers, manufacturers, sales agencies and service providers will be judged rigorously based on professional and personal achievements across a field of 16 distinct categories of competition. Submissions and nominations must be made online by March 16.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.