Awards | Jul 22, 2016 |
Nominees for top UK architecture prize named
Boh staff
By Staff

The Royal Institute of British Architects has named the six shortlisted buildings for the RIBA Stirling Prize, the U.K.’s top architecture prize. The list includes a partly subterranean home, which is also up for the RIBA House of the Year distinction; a converted gallery space; a high-density housing development; and three educational buildings.

The list includes:

• Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford,
by Herzog & de Meuron

• City of Glasgow College, Riverside Campus,
by Michael Laird Architects and Reiach and Hall Architects

• Newport Street Gallery, Vauxhall, London,
by Caruso St John Architects

• Outhouse, Gloucestershire, by Loyn & Co Architects

• Trafalgar Place—Elephant and Castle, London,
by dRMM Architects

• Weston Library, University of Oxford, by WilkinsonEyre

“The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the building that has made the biggest contribution to the evolution of architecture in a given year,” says Jane Duncan, president of RIBA. “The shortlisted projects are each fantastic new additions to their individual locations—on an urban street, a city riverside, an estate regeneration, an historic city center and a hidden part of the countryside—but their standout common quality is the inspiration they will bring to those who study, live, visit and pass by them, for generations to come. To me, this shortlist reflects everything that is great about U.K. architecture—a blend of experimental, artistic vision and a commitment to changing people’s lives for the better.”

Previous prize winners include Burntwood School, by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris (2015); Everyman Theatre by Haworth Tompkins (2014); Astley Castle, by Witherford Watson Mann Architects (2013); Sainsbury Laboratory, by Stanton Williams (2012); Evelyn Grace Academy (2011) and MAXXI National Museum (2010), both by Zaha Hadid Architects; Maggie’s Centre at Charing Cross Hospital, by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners (2009); and Accordia housing development, by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios/Alison Brooks Architects/Maccreanor Lavington (2008).

The winner of this year’s RIBA Stirling Prize will be named on October 6.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.