Contests | Jan 22, 2015 |
Eight notable design contests, competitions and calls for entries
Boh staff
By Staff

Designers are always thinking about new trends, new ideas and new ways to make those ideas come to life. Sometimes all they need is the right push to make it happen—and design companies and organizations often dangle that push in the form of enticing contest prizes. This month the International Interior Design Association (IIDA), the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the American Institute of Architects (AIA), Coverings and the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA), are hoping to inspire and discover the latest and greatest in design. Ready, set, enter.

Previous winning design of the Will Ching Design Competition

The IIDA has opened two design competitions, the 42nd-annual Interior Design Competition and the 23rd-annual Will Ching Design Competition. These international competitions honor outstanding, innovative designs. The Interior Design Competition is open to firms of any size, while the Will Ching Design Competition is restricted to firms of five employees or fewer. The deadline to submit projects for both competitions is Friday, Feb. 6. Winners will be celebrated during NeoCon 2015 and winning projects will be featured on the IIDA website and in the June 2015 issue of Interior Design magazine.

In addition, the IIDA’s Illinois chapter has announced the call for entries for the third-annual Recognizing Exceptional Design (RED) Awards. In order to recognize design excellence, encourage new ideas and techniques, and build public awareness in the field, the IIDA Illinois Chapter is seeking submissions across categories including hospitality, retail, education, contract and furniture design. The deadline to enter is Friday, Jan. 30. 

Previous winner of the RIBA Awards program

RIBA has opened entries to its 2015 RIBA Awards program, which celebrates the best architecture projects from the past two years. Projects of all sizes and budgets across the U.K. are eligible for entry into the RIBA Regional Awards. The deadline to enter is Friday, Feb. 6.

In addition, RIBA is calling for applications for its 2015 Norman Foster Travelling Scholarship. A £6,000 grant will be awarded to one student by a panel of judges, which includes Lord Foster and the President of the RIBA Stephen Hodder. The deadline for applications is Friday, April 24. 

AIA New York’s annual Design Awards Program recognizes outstanding architectural design by AIA New York Chapter members, New York City-based architects in any location, and work in New York City by architects around the globe. The purpose of the awards program is to honor the architects, clients and consultants who work together to achieve design excellence. The deadline for submitting projects for consideration is Friday, Feb. 6.

Coverings' Rock Stars—An Emerging Leaders Program, which honors young professionals in the tile and stone industry, is seeking nominations for practicing professionals 35 years or younger including architects, designers, contractors, installers, fabricators, distributors and retailers. Nominations can be made online before Friday, Feb. 6.

Previous winning IDSA design excellence awards products

The IDSA is now accepting applications for its 2015 design excellence awards, which recognizes design excellence in products, interaction design, service design, strategy, research, concepts and student designs in several categories. Entry is open to all, and winners are chosen based on a list of seven criteria, which includes innovation, benefit to the user and responsibility. The deadline to enter is Monday, Feb. 16. The competition results will be revealed at the IDSA International Conference on Aug. 22 in Seattle.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.