Awards | Feb 10, 2016 |
Swarovski Designers of the Future winners named in Miami
Boh staff
By Staff

The winners of the 2016 Swarovski Designers of the Future Award, selected by Swarovski and Design Miami, include design duo Studio Brynjar & Veronika of Iceland and Germany, based in Berlin; sound artist Yuri Suzuki from Japan, based in London; and glass artist Anjali Srinivasan from India, based in Dubai. The recipients of the honor traveled to Swarovski’s headquarters in Wattens, Austria, last December to draw inspiration from the company’s archives, design centers and other programs. They’ll debut new works, commissioned by the company, at the 11th edition of Design Miami/Basel from June 14 to 19.

The award offers resources to emerging talents for creating large-scale works. This year, the chosen designers are asked to consider the theme of “betterment” in their designs, with the goal of “creating an experience at Design Miami/Basel that presents an ideal proposal for ‘designing for life and future living.’” This year’s awards are the second collaboration for Swarovski and Design Miami.

“It has been 10 years since the beginning of our relationship with Swarovski, and those 10 years have proven Swarovski’s commitment to and support of the design world,” said Rodman Primack, executive director of Design Miami. “The Swarovski Designers of the Future Award aims to highlight diverse and technologically vanguard approaches to design through the work of designers that are not yet household names. This year’s laureates speak to the breadth of the field, with explorations into sound design, glasswork and the act of storytelling through design. We are very excited to experience the results of Swarovski’s commissions, and look forward to seeing how this award will impact their individual practices and their trajectory.”

“It was so exciting to visit Wattens, and we loved seeing how the crystal was made,” said Veronika Sedlmair and Brynjar Sigurðarson, of Studio Brynjar & Veronika. “It’s a sort of a form of alchemy, the way Swarovski creates this really beautiful substance from natural materials, yet using these high tech processes. It’s a mystical, magical place, and it has left us feeling really inspired for this project. We love to dive into new mediums and crystal is a whole new challenge.”

Previous winners of the award include Studio Swine, Tomás Alonso, Elaine Yan Ling Ng, Max Lamb, Asif Khan, Philippe Malouin, Raw Edges, Random International, Martino Gamper and Bethan Laura Wood.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.