| Jul 12, 2010 |
ASID recognizes interior designers for their contributions
Boh staff
By Staff

Eight members of the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) have been officially inducted into the ASID College of Fellows. The title of "Fellow," the highest honor a member can receive from ASID, is given in recognition of outstanding service and contributions to the Society, the profession and the interior design industry. 

The following eight members compose the 2010 Class of Fellows:

Bruce Goff: A well-known advocate for legislation that protects interior designers’ right to practice, Goff frequently travels the country to testify at hearings and advise state coalitions. He directs a highly successful residential, commercial and hospitality design practice that has offices in Reno, Nev., and San Francisco.

Sari Graven: Recognized for balanced, “big-picture” thinking, Graven has a diverse career both in practice and in leadership roles within the industry, including her current role as ASID president. Her body of work includes design work in the fields of healthcare, hospitality and office design, and she currently serves as the director of special projects for facilities at Seattle University. 

Calvin Hefner: Hefner and his firm Accessible Environments Inc. are recognized across the nation for their work on creating accessible spaces for people with physical challenges. Hefner is also the founder of the Brothers Foundation, a nonprofit agency that provides low-cost housing for people living with AIDS and HIV. 

Lisa Henry: A design strategist, advocate and educator, Henry has long been a proponent of the business value of good interior design in corporate working environments. She is a leader in strategic workplace design and frequently consults for Fortune 100 companies and other organizations. 

Charles Larry Horne: Acclaimed for his accomplishments in historic preservation, Horne is known for his impeccable attention to detail and historic authenticity. His research continues to contribute to the body of knowledge for historic preservation and interior design. 

D. Samantha McAskill: Devoted to improving safety and accessibility in built environments, McAskill’s career has included designing healing environments and volunteering on code councils and committees. She has acted as the ASID representative to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) review committee for more than 20 years.

Rachelle Schoessler Lynn:  A belief that design and the built environment can effect positive change has driven Schoessler Lynn’s commitment to sustainable and socially responsible design. She cofounded Studio 2030, an award-winning design firm, on the conviction that environmental and economic objectives are not mutually exclusive.

Janice Young: Young has been instrumental in creating and maintaining the standards in the interior design profession and is a source of knowledge on the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) and professional practice. She championed Florida’s right to practice legislation and continues to work to push the profession forward.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.