| Oct 12, 2012 |
Natl. Design Award for Interior Design goes to Clive Wilkinson
Boh staff
By Staff

The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum kicks off  its National Design Week tomorrow, which is held in conjunction with the National Design Awards. Now in its second decade, the awards program recognizes the best in American design across a range of disciplines.

Clive Wilkinson

This year’s honorees and their awards include: Clive Wilkinson for Interior Design; Mack Scogin of Merrill Elam Architects for Architecture Design; Thom Browne for Fashion Design; Stoss Landscape Urbanism for Landscape Architecture; Richard Saul Wurman for Lifetime Achievement; Janine Benyus for Design Mind; Red Burns for Design Patron; Design that Matters for Corporate and Institutional Achievement; Rebecca Mendez for Communication Design; Evan Roth for Interaction Design and Scott Wilson for Product Design.

The award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner in New York City on October 17.

2011 Design Week Panel

The design week, which runs through October 21, will feature a series of public programs and a range of online resources for students, teachers, design professionals and the general public.

Guests around the country are invited to celebrate the important role that design plays in daily life. To stretch it to a national level, this year Cooper-Hewitt has launched an interactive online resource to promote design events all over the country.

2011 Design Week Educational Program

For a complete schedule of National Design Week events, click here. To be a part of the online programs, click here. All programs are free with pre-registration, to register, click here.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.