| Nov 6, 2012 |
Best of Market Award and highlights from Fall High Point Market
Boh staff
By Staff

The October High Point Market was full of action, including several notable awards presentations. Here’s a look at what went on during the week.

Bernhardt won the prestigious Best of Market Award in the High Point Market Showroom Design Competition, which singles out the best display for Fall. Runners up were Miles Talbott and Standard Furniture. The panel of judges this year included Newell Turner, Editorial Director of Hearst Design Publications; Mark McMenamin, Senior Editor at Interior Design; and Tobi Fairley of Tobi Fairley Design.

The inaugural Fashion Focus Award was given to Surya for its fashionable display featuring a couture dress in Surya’s fabrics. Runner up was Elaine Smith.

The People’s Choice Award invited all market-goers to vote for their favorite showroom design via Twitter or text messaging with judging criteria left to the discretion of Market attendees. The winner for the fourth year in a row was Four Hands. Runners up included Universal Furniture and Wesley Hall. Winning entrants in each category were presented with a crystal trophy cup for display in their showrooms.

High Point Market’s Style Spotters were buzzing around tweeting and posting to Pinterest to showcase their favorite products and top trends at the Market. Lisa Mende, Founder and Principal of Lisa Mende Design, was named High Point Market's 9th Style Spotter.

October Market Style Spotters

The American Society of Furniture Designers presented its annual Pinnacle Awards for creative and original furnishings designs at High Point Market. Taking top honors with the Major Collection Award was the Chateau Lyon Group from Century Furniture, designed by Pride Sasser. For a complete list of winners, click here.

Doug Bassett, incoming chairman

Finally, the High Point Market Authority recognized the long service of outgoing board Chairman Kevin O’Connor of Samson Marketing, as well as board members who have completed their terms, including High Point Mayor Rebecca Smothers, Center Point’s Lynn Underwood, and Polo Ralph Lauren’s George Clopton.The board formally recognized its new Chairman Doug Bassett of Vaughan-Bassett, who most recently served as Vice Chairman.

The Market Authority also named new board members including: Scott Eckman, CMO of International Market Centers; industry veteran Joe Mussallem; Mark Phillips, CEO Phillips Collection and Tim Schelfe, Director of Interior Design, JDavis Architects.

The next High Point Market will take place in the spring from April 20 – 25, 2013. For more information and to begin registering, click here.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.