| Nov 9, 2009 |
Alexandra Champalimaud named "Designer of the Year" at 29th annual Gold Key Awards
Boh staff
By Staff

The International Hotel/Motel & Restaurant Show announced winners of the coveted Gold Key Awards for Excellence in Hospitality Design today. Winners, finalists and “Designer of the Year” Alexandra Champalimaud were honored at a ceremony in New York. Honorees were selected by a panel of notable industry experts from a field of more than 225 projects representing 24 countries. Sponsored by Interior Design and HOTELS magazines, the awards coincide with the 94th annual IH/M&RS, running through November 10 at New York City’s Jacob K. Javits Convention Center.

The 2009 Gold Key Award winners are:

Best Hotel Design – Resort

BAMO (San Francisco, CA) for Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora (Tahiti)

Best Hotel Design - Urban

Yabu Pushelberg (New York, NY) for Las Alcobas (Polanco, Mexico)

Guest Room

Clodagh Design (New York, NY) for Miraval Guestrooms (Catalina, Arizona)


AB Concept (Hong Kong) for Shangri-La’s Far Eastern Plaza Hotel (Tainan, Taiwan)


Marcel Wanders Studio (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) for Mondrian Miami (Miami Beach, FL)

Restaurants – Casual Dining

AB Concept (Hong Kong) for Jen Café at Hotel Jen (Hong Kong)

Restaurants – Fine Dining

STEPHANIEGOTO (New York, NY) for Corton (New York, NY)

Spa Richardson Sadeki (New York, NY) for Lapis at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, BAMO (San Francisco, CA) for The Spa at Four Seasons Bora Bora (Tahiti)

Countries and territories represented among the more than 225 submissions were Australia, Bahrain, Canada, China, Croatia, Egypt, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, Macao, Mexico, New Zealand, Russia, Semarang, Singapore, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates and the United States.

Judges for the 2009 Gold Key Awards were Randy Gerner, Gerner Kronick + Valcarcel, Architects, PC; D.B. Kim; Michael Silberstein, Crowne Plaza Times Square; and Michael Whiteman, Joseph Baum & Michael Whiteman Co. Finalists were selected based on aesthetic appeal, practicality and functionality of design.

Highlighting the ceremony was the presentation of the “Designer of the Year” award to Alexandra Champalimaud, president and principle designer of CHAMPALIMAUD. She was selected for the award program’s highest honor for her seasoned understanding of the foundations and principles of classic design.

In addition, NEWH, Inc., the Hospitality Industry Network, presented its fourth Icon of Industry Award posthumously to Jerry Hruby-Holy, founder of Unilight and admired leader within the lighting industry. A $5,000 scholarship in Jerry’s name was awarded to Saray Gill, a student at Savannah College of Art & Design.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.