| Sep 9, 2011 |
19 designers transform Arne Jacobson's Swan Chair for BCRF
Boh staff
By Staff

For the month of October, SUITE New York launches the Pink Swan Project featuring 19 international and renowned interior designers, architects and fashion designers transform the legendary Swan chair to benefit The Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF).

Alexandra Von Furstenburg, Campion Platt, Chris Kraig, David Mann, DB Kim for PYR for Swarovski, Holly Fulton for Swarovski, Jamie Drake, Jonathan Adler, Karim Rashid, Kelly Hoppen, Madeline Weinrib, Margherita Maccapani Missoni, Milly de Cabrol, Nate Berkus, Simon Doonan, Vicente Wolf, Victoria Hagen and Windsor Smith have each customized the legendary Swan chair by Arne Jacobsen in personal homage to the work of BCRF.

The 19 chairs will be on view in the window of and inside the Gagosian Gallery shop on Madison Avenue. On October 27th, the chairs move to SUITE New York's Flatiron showroom for an invitation-only cocktail party with the designers and BCRF founder Evelyn Lauder. Mrs. Lauder will also have an exhibit of her photographs of lady head vases, entitled "The Salon Beauties." The chairs are available for purchase on charitybuzz.com through an online auction that runs from Oct. 1st - 31st.  80% of the proceeds from the chairs sales go to BCRF. 100% of the proceeds from the sale of Mrs. Lauder's portraits will also benefit BCRF.

"Evelyn Lauder is an inspirational businesswoman and philanthropist.  Maria and I are honored to assist her and BCRF in their passionate search to find a cure for breast cancer," said SUITE New York co-principal Kris Fuchs.

The Swan chair has been iconic since its debut in the 1950s, known for its elegant and organic shape.  Fritz Hansen, the manufacturer, has donated all the chairs.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.