PDF Systems October Header PDF Systems Responsive October
industry insider
National Architecture Award winners named
Nov 10, 2015

The largest architecture awards in the world, the Australian Institute of Architects National Architecture Awards, has announced this year’s winners, with 42 projects spanning 14 different categories.

National Architecture Award winners named
Small Project Architecture winner, #thebarnTAS by workbylizandalex

National Architecture Award winners named
Residential Architecture—Houses winner, Planchonella House by Jesse Bennett Architect Builder

One of the winning residential projects, #thebarnTAS, was created by emerging architects Liz Walsh and Alex Nielsen of the firm workbylizandalex. It won the top prize for Small Project Architecture, the Nicholas Murcutt Award. It also won an Award for Heritage. As the jury said, “The historic structure has been lovingly retained—even its original shingles have been scrupulously cleaned, and now form a ceiling to the upper mezzanine bedroom. This is an excellent example of how the limits and challenges of heritage and conservation can encourage inventive solutions. Regulatory, technical and structural requirements have not been seen as impediments but rather as creative possibilities.”

Another residential project, Planchonella House, by Jesse Bennett Architect Builder, won the Robin Boyd Award for Residential Architecture—Houses (New). The house sits in the treetops of a Cairns rain forest.

The program has been held each year for nearly 35 years, and is the largest of its kind in the world. For this year’s competition, there were over 850 entries from around Australia as well as from abroad. Learn more.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth news delivered in print each quarter by subscribing to Business of Home.
Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
Artemest October Side 1
High Point Fall Guide