| Mar 14, 2010 |
Jason Phillips and Jerry Cohen join WithIt advisory team
Boh staff
By Staff

WithIt, the women’s leadership development network for the home and furnishings industries, inducted Jason Phillips of The Phillips Collection and Jason Phillips Design, and Y. Jerry Cohen of New York law firm Cohen, Tauber, Spievack & Wagner PC to its Board of Governors advisory team, which is comprised of industry leaders in various business disciplines and levels of leadership.

Phillips is an award-winning designer whose recent honors include the INSPIREDESIGN Design Excellence Award, 2010 ARTS Awards Product Designer of the Year, and the Trade Secrets Award, part of VERANDA magazine's inaugural Art of Design competition. Phillips is a board member for several associations, including the American Society of Furniture Designers, the Interior Design Panel at High Point University, and the Young Home Furnishings Professionals. Also, he is a founding member of the Sustainable Furnishings Council.

Cohen is a corporate counselor who handles financial, commercial and intellectual property transactions, and provides strategic business advice to public and private corporations, partnerships and limited liability companies. He routinely counsels clients in strategic alliances; joint ventures; licensing; marketing and distribution arrangements; acquisitions; divestitures; restructurings; and financings. Cohen has been a guest speaker at WithIt’s professional conference. And on his blog at FurnitureToday.com “Law and the Business of Furniture” he provides insight and solutions about legal matters that affect the furniture industry, including operational issues, trends, and current and proposed legislation.

In addition to Phillips and Cohen, the 2010 WithIt Board of Governors include industry veteran Cary Benson, co-president, Palliser; Deborah Burns, senior vice president and chief innovation officer, Hachette Filipacchi Media U.S.; Peggy Burns, principal, Circle Furniture; Jeffery L. Cook, president, Broyhill Industries Inc.; Jerry Epperson, partner, Mann, Armistead & Epperson; Jena Hall, vice president of marketing and director of bedroom, dining and occasional, aspenhomeTM; Phil Haney, president, Lexington Home Brands; Caroline Hipple, principal, HB2 Resources; Edward Massood, president and chief operating officer, Thomasville Home Furnishings of New Jersey; George Perez, chairperson, Furniture Design Department, Savannah College of Art and Design; Rob Sligh, chairman and chief executive officer, Sligh Furniture Co.; Ken Smith, managing partner, Smith Leonard PLLC; and Margaret Traub, president and chief executive officer, Adesso Inc.

“WithIt is a brain trust, a learning space, and a growth engine for individual and business leadership,” says WithIt President Stephanie Lowder. “Our Governors are strategic thinkers, generous supporters, and advocates for WithIt. They help this organization, and thus our individual members, to grow and contribute to full potential. In other words, each of our Governors and their companies embody our cause. We are grateful for their partnership and support."

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.