| May 4, 2012 |
Cooper Hewitt announces '12 National Design Award winners
Boh staff
By Staff

The winners of the  National Design Awards, now in its 13th year, were announced yesterday by Cooper-Hewitt director Bill Moggridge. The cross-discipline award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner on October 17th in New York. The awards were established to promote innovation and excellence in design and are accompanied by a variety of public education programs, panels, discussions and events.

Lifetime Achievement: Richard Saul Wurman, architect

Interior Design: Clive Wilkinson Architects

Architecture Design: Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects

Landscape Architecture: Stoss Landscape Urbanism

Fashion Design: Thom Browne

Product Design: Scott Wilson

Communications Design: Rebeca Méndez

Design Mind: Janine Benyus, biologist

Other winners included Evan Roth for Interaction Design and Design that Matters for Corporate and Institutional Achievement.

National Design Week runs from October 13-21 with the aim of promoting a better understanding of the role that design plays in daily life. It is made possible in part by the generous sponsorship of Target. The National Design Awards are supported in part by Behance. Media sponsorship for the National Design Awards is provided by Fast Company. The National Design Award Trophies were created by The Corning Museum of Glass, in collaboration with Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum.

National Design Awards and National Design Week professional supporters include AIGA | the professional association for design, American Institute of Architects New York Chapter, American Society of Interior Designers, American Society of Landscape Architects, Architecture and Design Film Festival, Industrial Designers Society of America New York City and Interaction Design Association.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.