| Jan 20, 2011 |
Best interior innovations awarded at Cologne Design Night
Boh staff
By Staff

On Monday night of the imm cologne furniture fair, over 1,200 members of the European design community, along with the Design Post, H.O.M.E. Magazin, the Spichern Höfen spent an evening full of atmosphere in the Alter Wartesaal in Cologne's central station.

Kicking off the party and Cologne Design Week, the 2011 Interior Innovation Awards were announced. In addition, the three best international up-and-coming designers were presented with the Interior Innovation Award. All award-winning products are being exhibited in special shows at imm cologne.

The Boulevard of Innovations award exhibition along the northern boulevard presents the products that the jury awarded the "Winner 2011" label as well as those from this preliminary selection proclaimed the 15 Best of Best 2011. The award-winning work of the three best newcomers together with around 30 prototypes from international up-and-coming designers.

The award recipients are: The Flow Armchair (seat) by Jean-Marie Massaud; Rocker (rocking horse) by Doshie Levien; Wogg 50 (chair) by Jörg Boner; Konnex (shelf) by Florian Gross; Conoflat (shower basin) by Christopher Redfern, Sottsass Associati; TA 18 Zehn (table) by Philipp Mainzer; i-Cooking (cooking hob) by ABK InnoVent BV; SKE 63 M 05 EU Compact Built-in Dishwasher by Inhouse Design; Material Structures – Salut / Ori / Bristol (decorative fabrics) by Lisa Perlitz, Kinnasand GmbH; Falling Star Floor (lamp) by Tobias Grau; Pure Rost (wall covering) by Susan Krieger, Lydia in St. Petersburg GmbH; Cluster+ (lamp) by Ben Wirth and Killian Hüttenhofer; Trio (side table) by Julian Appelius; Lou (armchair) by Patrick Jouin; and the Munich Lounge Chair by Sauerbruch Hutton, Matthias Sauerbruch and Louisa Hutton.

[D3] Talents Contest first-prize winners received 2,500 euros and the second prize of 1,000 euros. First-prize winners were OLA (table) by AKKA, Oscar Terbom and Petter Danielson and Pressed Chair by Harry Thaler. Second-prize winner was Moody (sofa) by Hanna Emelie Ernsting.

Hanna Ernsting; Moody.

The jury included Tomoko Azumi, designer, London; Barbara Friedrich, editor-in-chief A&W Architektur und Wohnen, Hamburg; Sam Hecht, designer, London; Andrej Kupetz, managing director of the "Rat für Formgebung"/German Design Council, Frankfurt am Main; Giulio Ridolfo, designer, Udine and Gerhard Wolf, Funktion Möbel, Darmstadt.

Applicants included any company in the interior design industry with products from the segments of furniture, bathroom, office/workspace, building equipment, wall/floor/ceiling, kitchen/household, lighting and textiles.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.