| Apr 30, 2014 |
Architizer announces A+ Award winners
Boh staff
By Staff

Zaha Hadid Architects, Studio Fuksas, SOM and BIG are just a few of the 129 winners of the second annual Architizer A+ Awards. Architecture, interiors and products were judged both by jury and popular vote across more than 60 categories. They will be honored alongside additional special achievement winners at a gala on Thursday, May 15, in New York City.

"The A+ Awards are more than any one winner,” said Marc Kushner AIA and CEO of Architizer. “This year our 129 winners are a celebration of the breadth of architecture's influence and are an extraordinary cross-section of the relevance and innovation of the field."

In addition to the A+ Awards, Architizer will also reveal the winners of the Special Achievement Awards to those who have raised awareness and made various contributions within the field. Among last year’s honorees were Richard Meier (Lifetime Achievement), Iwan Baan (Relevance Award), and Friends of the High Line (Advocacy Award).

A highly esteemed jury of more than 300 industry leaders including Yves Béhar, Paola Antonelli, Liz Diller, Joseph Altuzarra, David Rockwell, Rem D. Koolhaas and Ian Schrager selected the juried winners, while an online public vote determined the popular choice winners, with votes from more than 100 countries.

Notable Architizer A+ Award winning projects include:

Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport, Studio Fuksas: Architecture+Engineering (Popular Choice & Jury)

Pop Up Habitat, People’s Architecture Office: Pop-Ups & Temporary (Jury)

Danish Maritime Museum, Bjarke Ingels Group: Museums (Jury)

Villa Kogelhof, Paul de Rutier Architects: Residential Single Family Home >3,000-square-feet (Jury & Popular Choice)

Gammel Hellerup Gymnasium, Bjarke Ingels Group: Sports & Recreation (Jury)

Heydar Aliyev Center, Zaha Hadid Architects: Theatres & Performing Arts Centers (Popular Choice)

Hylozoic Series, Philip Beesly Architect: Architecture+Art (Jury)

National September 11 Memorial, Handel Architects LLP: Memorials (Popular Choice)

Abbey of St. Maurice, Savioz Fabrizzi Architectes: Religious Building (Jury)

Starlight, Cooper Joseph Studio: Architecture+Light (Popular Choice)

Red Bull New York Office, INABA Inc.: Architecture+Workspace (Jury)

Salford Meadows Bridge, Standard: Architecture+ Mobility (Popular Choice)

Tools for Life by OMA, Knoll: Products+Partnerships (Jury)

Pérez Art Museum Hanging Gardens, JTI Custom: Products+Landscapes (Popular Choice)

The High Line, L'Observatoire Internation, James Corner Field Operations and Diller Scofidio + Renfro: Architecture (Jury)

The winners will be celebrated at a red carpet ceremony at Highline Stages and the celebration will continue with an after party at the Top of The Standard at The Standard, High Line.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.