| Jul 22, 2013 |
Six industry leaders nominated for Furniture Hall of Fame
Boh staff
By Staff

This fall during High Point Market, leaders of manufacturing, retail and design will be named “Industry Fellows” and have the chance to be inducted into the Furniture Hall of Fame at a banquet on October 20, joining the ranks of other design greats.

Clockwise from top: Audi, Bassett III, Baughman Jr., Rosenberg, Franklin and Capel Jr.

The nominees are: Aminy I. Audi, CEO and chairman of L. & J.G. Stickley; John D. Bassett III, chairman of Vaughan-Bassett Furniture Co.; Milo Ray Baughman Jr., who founded Milo Baughman Design Inc.; A. Leon Capel Jr., who led Capel Inc. for over 60 years; Hassel H. Franklin, chairman and CEO of Franklin Corp.; and Eugene Rosenberg, founder of Bob's Discount Furniture and Planned Furniture Promotions.

"The home furnishings industry is comprised of highly diverse roles and products, which is represented in this year's slate of the leaders in our industry," said George Cartledge III, president of the Furniture Hall of Fame foundation. "Each person represents a lifelong career of exemplary achievement, leadership, innovation and generosity. Each nominee has earned the respect of his peers as well as the industry as a whole, and will be made an industry fellow."

Foundation members will have the chance to vote between July 15 and August 16. The new members will be announced and officially inducted at the banquet.

The American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc., is an international, industry-wide organization founded to research, collect and preserve cultural, economic and artistic history, as well as to honor those individuals whose outstanding achievements have contributed to the continued growth and development of the U.S. furniture.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.