| Jun 22, 2012 |
Jury announced for 2013 German Design Award
Boh staff
By Staff

The German Design Council has revealed the names of the jury members who will be choosing the winners of the German Design Award.

The products will be assessed on the basis of various different criteria such as design quality, degree of innovativeness, brand value, functionality, ergonomics and ecological compatibility. “The kinds of commodities and services that will impress us will have to stand out from the crowd,” explains Roland Heiler, juror at the 2013 Award. “What makes a product or a project worthy of a prize is an impressive overall performance. It will need to meet the German Design Award’s high standards on numerous counts. I am already looking forward to appraising the work submitted.”

Video features Highlights of the German Design Award 2012

The jury judging the 2013 German Design Award is made up of experts from different disciplines, from business, science and the design industry to cover the ten competition categories.

Andrej Kupetz, General Manager of the German Design Council comments: “Now that we have put in place new categories for the competition it makes sense to put together a new jury. For us, the challenge in implementing the new procedure was to appoint a qualified sub-jury for every category, but one that also manifested the necessary expertise for handling the other areas of the competition. We have now achieved this. We have been able to recruit outstanding design experts to the office of juror and are already very excited about the outcome of the jury conference.”

The next step in the competition will be to judge the nominees in August. The finalists for the newcomer prize will be announced in September and in November the German Design Council will be publishing the recipients of the “Winner”, “Gold” and “Personality” awards.

The jury members for the 2013 German Design Award are (in alphabetical order):

Johannes Barckmann, EDAG GmbH & Co. KGaA

Lars Uwe Bleher, Atelier Markgraph GmbH, Hochschule Darmstadt

Martin Esser, people interactive GmbH

Prof. Oliver Grabes, Braun GmbH, Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Roland Heiler, Porsche Design GmbH

Bernhard Heitz, Busch-Jaeger Elektro GmbH

Nicole Huffer, SimonsVoss Technologies GmbH

Dr. Annemarie Jaeggi, Bauhaus Archiv Museum für Gestaltung


Daniel Knies, LSG Sky Chefs Catering Logistics GmbH

Susanne Lengyel, VDID Verband Deutscher Industrie Designer e.V.

Prof. Hansjerg Maier-Aichen, Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe

Nils Holger Moormann, Nils Holger Moormann GmbH

Nicolette Naumann, Messe Frankfurt GmbH

Prof. Peter Naumann, Hochschule München

Silvia Olp, Burkhardt Leitner constructiv GmbH & Co. KG

Burkhard Remmers, Wilkhahn Wilkening + Hahne GmbH + Co. KG

Prof. Mike Richter, Hochschule Darmstadt

Andreas Rotzler, Interbrand AG

Henrik Rutenberg, Loewe GmbH

Prof. Anette Scholz, Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle

Tom Schönherr, Phoenix Design GmbH + Co. KG

Caroline Seifert, Deutsche Telekom AG

Nicole Srock-Stanley, dan pearlman markenarchitektur gmbh

Olaf Stein, Factor Design AG

Robert Suk, Rosenthal GmbH

Frank Wache, JUNO GmbH & Co. KG

Prof. Frank Georg Zebner, Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.