| Feb 10, 2010 |
ICA&CA announces 2010 Arthur Ross Awards recipients
Boh staff
By Staff

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America (ICA&CA) announced the recipients of its annual Arthur Ross Awards this week. The event is held each year in May and raises funds to support the ICA&CA mission of advancing the practice and appreciation of the classical tradition in architecture, urbanism and the applied arts.

This year, the 2010 Arthur Ross Awards will go to the following recipients:

Architecture: Historical Concepts, Peachtree City, Georgia

Artisanship: Foundation de Coubertin/ Saint-Jacques Artisans Workshops, Saint-Rémy-lès-Chevreuse, France and Chicago, Illinois

Landscape Architecture: Sanchez & Maddux, Palm Beach, Florida

Painting/Mural Painting: Boyd Reath, New York, New York

Stewardship: Monticello/Thomas Jefferson Foundation, Charlottesville, Virginia

Board of Directors Honor: Calder Loth, Richmond, Virginia

"The current activities of this year’s Ross winners suggest a nascent resurgence in the American building and allied arts," said ICA&CA President Paul Gunther. "It is encouraging that the past accomplishment recognized in each case is hopefully accompanied by such new and renewed assignments.”

The Thomas Jefferson Foundation, recognized in the category of Stewardship, is a case in point, according to Gunther. "Massive, carefully-conceived preservation of historic structures and landscape alike, along with an ambitious new visitors and education center designed by Ayers/Saint/Gross bore the landmark site in mind throughout its conception.”

The Arthur Ross Awards are given for a career or body of work by the nominee. Recipients are practitioners or advocates of the classical tradition whose work represents excellence in their field. In some cases, they have been working without national exposure over the course of their career because of their geographical location or lack of media exposure, or they are rising stars whose work the jury hopes will be encouraged by the Award.

Barbara Sallick, chair of this year’s Arthur Ross Awards jury, and Peter Pennoyer, Chairman of the ICA&CA board of directors, will preside over the ceremony, which takes place on May 3, 2010.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.