| Apr 6, 2011 |
Green Design Awards recognize sustainable design leaders
Boh staff
By Staff

For the third year New York School of Interior Design (NYSID) will present the Green Design Awards to acknowledge individuals and businesses who have made outstanding contributions toward advancing the cause of sustainable design.

The recipients include Perkins+Will for its interior spaces; Designtex for its interior products; Clay Rockefeller and Nick Bauta of The Steel Yard for development; InterfaceFLOR for its business practice; and Bill Browning of TerrapinAdvocacy for promoting and practicing sustainability.

Photo courtesy Perkins+Will.

“These organizations and individuals are true sustainability trailblazers,” said NYSID President Christopher Cyphers.  “The work they are doing is not only groundbreaking, it is absolutely necessary for the future of the environment.  NYSID is pleased to honor them, and by doing so, hopefully bring even more attention to their worthy endeavors.” 

Photo courtesy Steelcase.

A medal designed by architect Michael Graves, who is on NYSID’s International Advisory Board, will be presented to this year’s recipients, as well as all future Green Design Award winners.

Photo courtesy InterfaceFLOR..

The recipients were selected by the Green Design Nominating Committee, made up of individuals prominent in the world of sustainable interiors: Penny Bonda, FASID, LEED AP, co-founder of Ecoimpact Consulting; interior designer Clodagh, widely recognized as a leader in the green movement; Peter Conant; Kati CurtisSusan Inglis, executive director of the Sustainable Furnishings Council;  Ethan Lu, NYSID sustainability area coordinator;  Wendy Silverstein, president, New York Chapter, IFDA; William Spink, president of IDLNYSusan Szenasy, editor-in-chief, Metropolis magazine;  and interior designer Cheryl Tague of Core Home Inc.

The honorary co-chairs for the 2011 Green Design Awards include Assemblymember Jonathan L. Bing, Laurie Kerr, architect, LEED AP, Stephanie Odegard, founder and president of Odegard, Inc., and Jonathan F.P. Rose, president of Jonathan Rose Companies.

The awards will be presented on May 4 at a cocktail reception from 5:30-7:30 at the Arthur King Satz Auditorium, New York School of Interior Design, 170 East 70th Street, New York City. For tickets and more information visit www.nysid.edu.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.