| Feb 14, 2013 |
AIA New York announces Design Awards recipients
Boh staff
By Staff

The AIA New York Chapter’s annual Honors & Awards Luncheon and fundraiser on April 17 will fete the recipients of its annual Design Awards, as well as the Medal of Honor, Award of Merit, and the Stephen A. Kliment Oculus Award.

William Pedersen, FAIA, will receive the Medal of Honor. Pedersen is the founding design partner of KPF, which he started in 1976 with A. Eugene Kohn and Sheldon Fox. KPF has earned the Architectural Firm Award from the American Institute of Architects and the Gold Medal of Honor by the New York Chapter of the AIA.

Pedersen has received the AIA National Honor Award seven times in recognition of each of the following projects: 333 Wacker Drive in Chicago (1984); the Procter & Gamble World Headquarters in Cincinnati (1987); the World Bank in Washington D.C. (1998); the New Academic Complex, City University of New York/Baruch College (2003); Westendstrasse 1/DG Bank Headquarters in Frankfurt (1994); the Gannett/USA Today Headquarters in Virginia (2005); and One Jackson Square in New York (2011). He also holds several design patents for furniture and lighting fixtures, including the L’Ale Interior Sconce for Ivalo Lighting, which was awarded The Chicago Athenaeum Green Good Design Award in 2010.

Hon. Robert B. Tierney will receive the Award of Merit. Tierney was appointed to the Landmarks Preservation Commission by Mayor Bloomberg and confirmed by the City Council on December 4, 2002. Prior to his appointment, Tierney was a visiting scholar at New York University Taub Urban Research Center where he focused on issues of state and local governance. Tierney was also Director of Public Affairs at AT&T where he represented AT&T to the New York City government and also the New York Congressional delegation on government matters. Tierney also served as Counsel to Mayor Edward I. Koch and Assistant Counsel to Governor Hugh L. Carey. He earned a B.A. at Yale University in English and received his J.D. from Vanderbilt University.

Suzanne Stephens will receive the Stephen E. Kliment Oculus Award. A deputy editor of Architectural Record, Stephens has been a writer, editor, and critic in the field of architecture for several decades. She has Ph.D. in architectural history from Cornell University, and teaches a seminar on the history of architectural criticism in the architecture programs at  Barnard and Columbia colleges. In addition, Stephens is the architectural advisor to Checkerboard Film Foundation, which recently produced the film series, “Landmarks in 21st  Century American Architecture.” She was the lead author of Imagining Ground Zero: Official and Unofficial Proposals for the World Trade Center Site, published in 2004 by Architectural Record and Rizzoli International. Currently Stephens serves on the board of directors of the Sir John Soane Museum Foundation in New York, and is a Life Trustee of the New York Architectural League.

2012 Award Winners

The rest of the 2013 Design Award winners will be announced early next month. The categories include architecture, interiors, un-built work and urban design. Past winners include: Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Frederic Schwartz Architects, 1100 Architect and many more.

This year’s luncheon chairs are Tomas J. Rossant, AIA, and Craig Schwitter, PE; co-chairs are Jose Alacreu, Scott Frank and Anthony J. Mannarino.

Today is the final day to make reservations to attend the awards ceremony. To reserve a table, download the reservation form from the website or contact Emma Haberman by email or phone at (212) 358-6108.

Tierney photo courtesy of the New York Times

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth industry news and analysis each quarter by subscribing to our print magazine. Join BOH Insider for discounts, workshops and access to special events such as the Future of Home conference.