ArtOrigo Header Main v2 ArtOrigo Header March Responsive v2
Design Museum names Furniture Design of the Year
Jan 17, 2012

Designs of the Year is the Design Museum London’s annual exploration of the most innovative, interesting and forward-looking work in design of all kinds, from around the world.
The nominated designs fall into seven categories: architecture, digital, fashion, furniture, graphics, product and transport. Nominees could be designed by a practice, team or individual. A winner for each category will be selected by an international jury and one overall winner is awarded Design of the Year.

Branca from Juriaan Booij on Vimeo.
Last year’s winner were British designer Samuel Wilkinson and product design company Hulger for their reinvention of the low energy light bulb, Plumen 001. Designs of the Year 2012 opens at the Design Museum on Wednesday February 8.
Design Museum names Furniture Design of the Year
The Branca chair, designed by Industrial Facility and manufactured by Italian brothers Mattiazzi, was intended to look familiar to the eye. Mimicking the natural growth patterns of twigs and branches, the Branca backrest and armrests seem to grow seamlessly from just one piece of wood. Carved robotically with work overseen by expert craftsmen at the Mattiazzi factory in Italy, the Branca chair complies to all modern expectations, light enough to carry, easy enough to stack and transport.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s stories, and get in-depth news delivered in print each quarter by subscribing to Business of Home.
Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
The Shade Store Side One March
Bevolo March Ad